web writing webinar ahead.

Of all the things I have to promote, I’m most reticent about promoting myself. But I’ve been asked (nicely) to make sure everyone knows that I’m presenting a Webinar titled Web Writing 360: How To Write Right For All Online Media on May 5.

The valuable Higher Ed Experts service presents the Webinar, and it’s the first of a two-part series that also features the wonderful Mary Beth Kurilko presenting Web Writer Coaching 101: How To Find, Train and Nurture Web Contributors On Campus on May 6. Since content is king (or queen) on the Web, I welcomed the opportunity when HEE’s Karine Joly contacted me to do this session. To preview a stat I use in the Webinar, did you know there are an estimated 182 billion sites on the Web across 106 million active domains? How can you be seen and heard among that crowd? Simple.

That’s part of the answer: Simple. As in, keep it simple. Get to the point, make it easy to read, give ’em what they want. The Webinar also will touch on effective content for blogs, Facebook and Twitter, since social media continues to become a larger slice of the pie consumed by the estimated 1.6 billion people surfing the Web.

For more information, visit the Higher Ed Experts event page. I hope to talk to you! And we now return you to your regular programming.

1 Comment

Filed under Web, writing

One response to “web writing webinar ahead.

  1. Dave Bullard

    For what it’s worth:

    I spent last evening talking to Fred Vigeant’s class on campus, on the subject of writing for various media. I listed on the board four simple rules that I always use to help me think my way through a story.

    (And when I taught at SUNY Oswego, I always led off writing classes with this thought: “Writing is thinking.” Putting words on paper is actually the last part of writing.

    The four rules:

    Short, sharp and simple. Short sentences, short words; sharp images; simple messages and simple organization. You can spend a lifetime mastering these and never get close enough;

    Features vs. benefits. The classic advertising/marketing mistake. Your soap may have 37% more stain fighting power, but I don’t care. Tell me my shirts will be whiter? I care about that. Don’t confuse your features with my benefits.

    Time, money, or peace of mind. Every marketing pitch ever has to hook to at least one of the three prime motivators of life. We either want to save or make more time, save or make money, or have more or prevent the loss of peace of mind. This works for journalism, too, in terms of getting people to care about what they’re reading.

    Tell me a story. The best work, in any field, reveals itself as a story. It goes from “Once upon a time” to “Happily ever after” (or not) in a logical, understandable manner. Stories work because the sequential method is how our brains store information, with the newest information hooked directly to the information that came right before it. Lists of facts are dull. Stories about life, however, are interesting.

    Again, for what it’s worth.

Leave a Reply

