twitter as a teaching tool? tis true.

For my Media Copywriting class this semester, I added Twitter use to the syllabus. I didn’t add it for the sake of saying I was using Twitter to teach — after all, I preach goals first, tools second. My particular goal involved trying to boost and broaden class discussion.

A perennial challenge is that, while my students are bright and articulate, they often prove reluctant to participate in, or initiate, class discussion. I decided to start them 140 characters at a time. Their homework, on most class days, includes an assignment to answer via Twitter with a class-relevant hashtag. These work best when cultivating more thinking than a simple quantitative response. Top tweet topics so far include:

- Name a Super Bowl™ ad you thought was effective and why. As I’ve said before, having the Super Bowl™ during a class that involves advertising is a boon. Using students’ Twitter responses, I could call on them directly, show the ad they mention and ask for their analysis. When I tried this without Twitter, even as an official assignment, drawing participation was more difficult.

- What do you think your brand’s biggest weakness is? Students tend to select the brands they’ll work with their semester (Nike, Dunkin Donuts, Tim Hortons, Wegmans, Fender, etc.) based on strengths or qualities they like. But knowing a brand’s weakness, or perceived weakness, can inform the creative process as well, and provides a nice entree to critical thinking. It also ties into a research assignment I give them that involves a SWOT analysis, finding target demographics/psychographics and critiquing their brands’ current campaign.

- Tweet about the first thing you encountered on Thursday that annoyed you. They looked at me funny when I assigned it, but nonetheless talked about roommates, landlords, sinus headaches, slow drivers and other professors. I was providing practice in InDesign, so my in-class assignment was: Do an ad for a product (real or imagined) that would solve your problem (which also illustrates the suffering point concept). The students came up with all kinds of products including landlord repellent, traffic-beating hovercraft and The Shrink Ray, which neutralizes annoying psychiatrists. The amount of ingenuity many put into it was impressive, and the opportunity to blend creativity with problem-solving quite valuable.

As with the creative process itself, the quality of answers are only as good as the questions asked, so my challenge is to keep coming up with good questions. And I’ve noticed the class doesn’t interact with each other (although they do with me) on Twitter — though those accustomed to interacting via Facebook probably do so that way, and I’m not going to require them to cross-converse via Twitter unless I have good reason. But their rate of completing Twitter assignments exceeds 95 percent. And, strange but true, Twitter assignment completion actually runs higher than class attendance.

So Twitter — or any social media platform — can work in the classroom, as long as you tie it to goals you want to reach and are willing to put the time into it to make it relevant.

8 Comments

Filed under Web

8 responses to “twitter as a teaching tool? tis true.

  1. jesskry

    Very interesting. Keep us posted on outcomes.

  2. carrie@umass

    Tim – that’s awesome.

    I envy your classroom experience. I need to find a place to teach and practice teaching with social media tools. Working in a med school isn’t giving me a range of opportunities – yes, I can teach MDs and PhDs about social media and make suggestions on how they might use tools in their work or their research or their teaching. But its training not teaching so their is no class build up, no frame to measure progress. I don’t get to demo my theories myself nor develop real data to report on success or failure of soc med integration. I def need to get into a classroom. I think that every time I read one of your teaching posts.

    Keep up the reporting – its great to hear/read about your tech-in-ed exploits. Motivating.

  3. you are so good at using technological tools for good and not evil! really interesting post. keep up the good work, professor! =)

  4. Pingback: Easy Tips for Back to School Scrapbooking Ideas | Article Media News Watch

  5. Matt

    Tim,

    Great post. I really like the last paragraph — tying to goals and driving for relevance.

    Cheers,
    Matt

  6. insidetimshead

    JESS and JESS: Will keep you posted if it gets more interesting. I also plan to have a blog assignment for them.

    CARRIE: The funny thing is teaching wasn’t the first thing on my mind when I got my master’s, but I was quickly contacted about adjuncting. And I had the freedom to take a course that was more theory-based with an archaic book and turn it into a course on creativity and relevant. I’m lucky in that, I know. You may well have an awesome opportunity before you know it.

    MATT: The things I learn at Stamats conferences!

  7. O, my kingdom for landlord repellent back in my college days.

    Nice to see these creative approaches toward integrating tech tools in classroom. Almost makes me want to teach again.

  8. Ron

    I started using it last term too, along with tumblr. Tumblr has been easier to get folks to use, because the assignments call for it directly. But I do think using these kinds of tools would be a step forward rather than not. Awesome stuff.

Leave a Reply

