Daily Archives: March 14, 2009

a few words of introduction.

[I figured part of my responsibility MCing the Oswego County Spelling Bee this morning includes putting it into perspective. Including with this whole social media thing. So part of my introductory comments concerns writing ... and how everyone is doing it.]

Welcome to the regional finals of the Scripps Howard Spelling Bee. I’m glad you’re here today, because you’re helping dispel a myth. A myth that the written word is dying. A myth that no one cares about the English language. A myth that we’re losing our ability to communicate. I would argue nothing could be further than the truth.

Between email and IM, text messaging and Twitter, blogs and Facebook, more people spend more writing than at any time in history. Not everyone is writing novels or poems, but I’ve seen high school and college students write things that are just amazing.

And as to whether anyone still cares about how people spell … well, we have around 30 eager spellers onstage, and hundreds of family and friends in the audience. So we have our answer.

1 Comment

Filed under words, writing